The Ninth Breakthrough Prize Ceremony Brought Out the Stars in Los Angeles to Honor Award-Winning Scientists

LOS ANGELES – April 15, 2023 – The ninth Breakthrough Prize ceremony took place on April 15, 2023. Leaving its traditional home in Silicon Valley the event was held in Los Angeles at the iconic Academy Museum of Motion Pictures. Hosted for the second time by James Corden, the event saw an array of stars appearing to honor science and scientific achievement. They included Kristen Bell, Magnus Carlsen, Lily Collins, Danny DeVito, Robert Downey Jr., Gal Gadot, Mae Jemison, Brie Larson, Edward Norton, Leslie Odom Jr., Chris Pine, Lauren Ridloff, and Chloé Zhao. Music was provided by John Legend, and Estelle, and singer-songwriter Chris Isaak performed at the official afterparty. After a hiatus due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the 2023 ceremony recognized Breakthrough Prize laureates from the past three years, as well as winners of the Maryam Mirzakhani New Frontiers Prize and the Breakthrough Junior Challenge. Watch the ceremony here.